Are you troubled about registering your vehicle in the state of New Jersey? Want to know the total details about registering fee and renewal process? Well, NJ MVC is the official center where you have to register your vehicles. In this guide, we will try our best to make all your worries go away so that you have no further qualms about getting your vehicle registered.
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission is the official center for getting your vehicle registered in New Jersey. Law enforcers need solid proof to know that you’re the official owner of a vehicle and have all exclusive rights to it. This is exactly how the law works in New Jersey. This is why it becomes extremely important to get your vehicle registered, form filled and car registration renewed to lawfully operate your vehicle in New Jersey.
More than the main body, there are also several registered local bodies that conduct the registration process on behalf of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. Detailed information on this can be found on the official NJ MVC website.
How is the Vehicle Registration Fee calculated under New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission?
The official NJ MVC has a set fee structure according to weight class and model year. This is predetermined and recognizes automobiles for commercial use. We owe the courtesy to the NJ MVC for the updated table.
|1||1970 or older||Under-2,700 lbs.||$35.50|
|2||1970 or older||2,700 lbs. – 3,800 lbs.||$44.50|
|3||1970 or older||Over 3,800 lbs.||$65.50|
|4||1971 – 1979||Under-2,700 lbs.||$38.50|
|5||1971 – 1979||2,700 lbs. – 3,800 lbs.||$49.50|
|6||1971 – 1979||Over 3,800 lbs.||$72.50|
|7||older than two years||Under-3,500 lbs.||$46.50|
|7||within two years||Under-3,500 lbs.||$59.00|
|8||older than two years||Over 3,500 lbs.||$71.50|
|8||within two years||Over 3,500 lbs.||$84.00|
|9||older than two years||Commuter Van**||$71.50|
|9||within two years||Commuter Van**||$84.00|
Other than these, NJ MVC recognizes the non-commercial cars and automobiles for commercial use and the fee is calculated depending on the Gross weight.
The NJ MVC is very strict with rules and only allows a few other cars to be recognized for commercial use. There are:
- Ford Ranchero
- Chevrolet El-Camino
- Subaru Brat
- Pickup Trucks
NJ MVC Form Fill Up Guide
There are mainly three forms that need to be filled up to get your vehicle registered in the NJ MVC. These are:
- Form OS/SS/UTA: To get your vehicle a NJ vehicle title.
- Form BA-49: The main form that you need to fill up for vehicle registration under NJ MVC.
- Form OS/SS-14: If you get a new vehicle, then you must fill up this form to get ownership certificate.
NJ MVC Vehicle Renewal Guide
Like all other services, there are three ways to get your vehicle registration renewed in New Jersey. This can be done by mail, in-person, and through the online method.
To get your vehicle registration renewed by the online method:
- Visit the site at https://mymvc.state.nj.us/reg-renewal/enterpinnumber.xhtml.
- Enter the pin from your renewal form in the space provided for the same.
- Now click on “Continue“.
- Enter your insurance information, SSN, update your address (if required), and the number of family duplicates needed in the space provided for owner information.
- On the next page, you can even choose a special interest license plate if the need arises.
- As the last step, you will need to add a payment method for vehicle registration renewal.
To get your vehicle registration renewed in-person method, you will need to visit your local agency and fill up the required renewal form.
To get your vehicle registration renewed by mail, you will need to fill up the renewal form that arrives with the NJ MVC renewal notice with your check/money order. Your vehicle registration will be renewed again!
We hope you have an easy time registering your vehicle under NJ MVC!