If you have some points accumulated for traffic violations throughout the year, you might find yourself having to pay a certain amount of fine for it. This is the surcharge system. You can pay directly to NJMCDIRECT by a few diiferent methods.
For people not willing to go through the trouble of paying fines in person, they may also pay their fine by mailing it to NJMCDIRECT. If you want to pay for your fines via mail but don’t know how to, this guide will provide you with all the necessary details.
How to pay New Jersey Surcharge via Mail?
The payment method by mail is available but it is not advised to go through with it as there may be some problems involved.
Payment can also be made through three other methods such as online by visiting the official website www.njmcdirect.com, by depositing the cash at the Western Union Location in New Jersey or nationwide, or by calling them on their toll-free number at (844) 424-6829. The payment can then commence in debit or credit cards.
In case you do want to send in your fine via mail, follow the steps mentioned under:
- If you commit any traffic offence that requires you to pay a penalty, you will receive a billing notice containing the payment envelope.
- Now, you can commence to pay your fine via check or money order.
- If you find that there’s no payment envelope included with the billing notice, you can still send in your payment through check or money order.
- Just mail the amount to the address mentioned under:
“NJSVS, P.O. Box no. 1502, Moorestown, NJ 08057-9704”
Please notice that the payment details are all mentioned on the bill. For any further details regarding the payment, you can ring up their toll-free number: (844) 424-6829.
How is the calculation done?
The surcharge is calculated on the basis of the traffic offences committed by a person in a year. The total amount depends on the type of offence committed and the number of points accumulated.
The traffic offences liable for a penalty are:
- Driving While Intoxicated(DWI)
- Points violation
- Lacking a liability insurance
- Suspended and still driving
- Driving unlicensed
While the DWI is a great offence and you will end up getting charged a fine of $1000 for the next three years, the other categories have lesser fines.
Before we describe how the Points violation is calculated, we want to clear the other categories out for you.
- Lacking a liability insurance: $250 for three years.
- Suspended and still driving: $250 for three years.
- Driving unlicensed: $100 for three years.
If you commit a traffic offence, you get a varied quantity of points depending on your offence. If you end up accumulating six or more points within 3 years, you end up paying a Surcharge.
- The first six points have a cumulative surcharge value of $100.
- An additional $25 is increased for every point after the first six.
Now you know all the details concerned with paying NJMCDIRECT by Mail. Please abide by the traffic guidelines to avoid paying any fine at all.